G7 agrees to end new govt support for coal power by end of 2021

    Bitcoin falls 5.2pc to $33,849, Ether down 6.3pc

    The Group of Seven pledged on Sunday to rapidly escalate technologies and policies accelerating the transition from unchanged coal capacity, including ending new government support for coal by the end of this year. The countries, in a statement after their summit in Britain, reaffirmed their commitment to increase climate financing contributions as part of efforts to reduce emissions that contribute to climate change and contribute to cleaner energy, although Climate groups said firm cash promises and other details were missing.

    “Coal-fired power generation is the single largest cause of greenhouse gas emissions,” said the seven nations – the United States, Britain, Canada, France, Germany, Italy and Japan, adding that “continued global investment in the production of coal electricity is incompatible with keeping 1.5 ° C at a distance. “

    For all the latest news, follow the Daily News Google News channel.

    “We emphasize that international investment in unchanged coal must stop now and we are now committed to ending new direct government support for the production of electricity from thermal coal without impact by the end of 2021,” they said.

    US President Joe Biden, speaking after the summit, noted the commitment of up to $ 2 billion “to support developing countries as they move away from sustainable coal-fired energy”.

    The nations, in their statement, pledged to focus on other technologies, including carbon capture, to speed up the transition away from carbon.

    “We will focus on accelerating progress on electricity and batteries, hydrogen, carbon sequestration, use and storage, aviation and zero-emission shipping, and for countries that choose to use it, nuclear power,” he said. The announcement.

    s.parentNode.insertBefore(t,s)}(window, document,’script’,
    fbq(‘init’, ‘298630560628716’);
    fbq(‘track’, ‘PageView’);

    News Source